Share the post "Deleted Uber Data To Stay For Another 30 Days"
In a recent development, Uber users can now delete the app directly from their smartphone without having to contact customer support. Uber is still putting a fail safe in. The company will retain a user’s data for 30 days after they opt to delete their account. So, if you change your mind you can restore your account.
Prior to this update, Uber users had to contact Uber and customer service representatives had to deal with each request individually. There was no automated system, like exists now. That became a massive problem when 500,000 people requested to delete their accounts following the company’s actions during a protest over President Donald Trump’s travel ban.
Beyond making it easier to delete Uber, the app is introducing more privacy features. Users can now choose, within the app, to no longer receive notifications for ride updates or for discounts.
Uber is also making it easier for users to understand, again within the app, how much of their location data Uber knows. No, it’s not letting you limit that. You can either select always or never for location tracking (but you need it on to use the app effectively, as in you would have to know exact address of Point A and Point B and you couldn’t track the driver in real-time — so good luck checking never). Uber users also can decide if they want friends to be able to access their location data, as in use Uber’s people to people feature. Each of these features will become available to users over the coming weeks.